App Reviews API


Get app reviews data for an Android app available on Google Play Store.

Definition

Endpoint:

GET https://data.42matters.com/api/v2.0/android/apps/reviews.json

Hits per request:

3

Rate limit:

5 QPS

Required plan:

basic or above.

Parameters

Name Required Description Available Values Default
access_token required Your access token for using this API. You can get it for FREE by signing up .
p required The package name identifying an Android application. Any publicly available Android app package name
rating optional Filter reviews with a specific rating value. A valid integer number in the range 1 to 5, for example: 4
start_date optional Get reviews newer than this date. A valid date in the format yyyy-MM-dd, for example: 2016-05-24
end_date optional Get reviews older than this date. A valid date in the format yyyy-MM-dd, for example: 2016-05-30
days optional Set the date range from yesterday to the specified number of days in the past. This field overwrites start_date and end_date. 1-30 30 (if no start_date and end_date)
lang optional Return language-specific reviews. ID of Supported Languages
limit optional Number of reviews to return. 1-100 10
page optional Page based on the limit parameter, used for pagination. 1 - max pages. 1
callback optional If supplied, the response will use the JSONP format with a callback of the given name.

Responses

Status Code Indication Content-Type Body
200 Everything is OK application/json
Attribute Type Description
package_name String The app package name (unique identifier)
title String App title
developer String App developer name
number_ratings Integer Number of app ratings
rating Double App rating (from 0 to 5, 5 highest)
icon URL Full-sized icon. Format can be either webp or png. In order to request png format, remove the trailing "-rw" from the url.
icon_72 URL App icon (72x72 pixels)
price String App price with currency (if paid)
market_url URL A deep link to the app page on Google Play
start_date Date A date in the format: yyyy-MM-dd
end_date Date A date in the format: yyyy-MM-dd
number_reviews Integer Number of reviews returned
total_reviews Integer Number of reviews available based on query/filters used
page Integer Current page
limit Integer Maximum number of reviews per page.
total_pages Integer Number of pages available based on "limit" parameter.
reviews Array of Objects Sorted list of reviews objects in the response. Each reviews contains: author_id, rating, lang, content, date, app_version.
404 The package name is not found application/json Error object
402 Your request exceeds what's allowed by your current subscription plan application/json Error object
403 Your access token is not valid application/json Error object
429 Your request rate is over the limit application/json Error object

Example Request

Example Response

{
	"package_name": "com.google.android.apps.plus",
	"title": "Google+",
	"developer": "Google Inc.",
	"number_ratings": 3763259,
	"rating": 4.2078824043274,
	"icon": "https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/N-AY2XwXafWq4TQWfua6VyjPVQvTGRdz9CKOHaBl2nu2GVg7zxS886X5giZ9yY2qIjPh=w300",
	"icon_72": "https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/N-AY2XwXafWq4TQWfua6VyjPVQvTGRdz9CKOHaBl2nu2GVg7zxS886X5giZ9yY2qIjPh=w72",
	"market_url": "https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.google.android.apps.plus&referrer=utm_source%3D42matters.com%26utm_medium%3Dapi",
	"price": "",
	"start_date": "2017-04-29",
	"reviews": [
		{
			"author_id": "7b9570dcb044a6b34482ba88f43baeb1",
			"rating": 1,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "The app takes forever to load conversations, even with a good network connection. I can open a conversation and it will just clock and clock and clock for more than a minute. I eventually give up and get out of the app.",
			"date": "2017-05-28",
			"app_version": "VARIES"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "3c209bf6f673baf2146906586cccbe15",
			"rating": 1,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "I Never used this. Once I accidently touched this app's icon, however, it kept prompting me to update it. Had to update, hopping that this will make it stop. Will continue not using this.",
			"date": "2017-05-28",
			"app_version": "VARIES"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "26a500d38515db109a47a04d4e979f86",
			"rating": 1,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "With each performance improvement and update, the app actually deteriorates over time and demonstrate what a incompetent bumbling idiots the developers are. This is an absolute crying shame!",
			"date": "2017-05-28",
			"app_version": "VARIES"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "da3725f170821c1e2f0eee45daae32f6",
			"rating": 5,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "",
			"date": "2017-05-28",
			"app_version": "VARIES"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "291dfe9dce7937435d4eb9bd5915574c",
			"rating": 2,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "Since the last update nothing loads to look at. And notifications stopped loading too. Fix it or I am deleting my profile and disabling the app.",
			"date": "2017-05-28",
			"app_version": "VARIES"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "433a465ab07e05d01602b19932d838df",
			"rating": 3,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "Why all of a sudden (the last few days) is this app freezing and crashing? It usually happens on start up. I start it, it freezes, then eventually I have the option to close, wait or report. After hitting wait or report, it's usable again. This isn't the only Google app to have issues over the past few days. Google Now is also crashing whenever I try to type something in the search bar",
			"date": "2017-05-27",
			"app_version": "VARIES"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "8c072da357784fefe1045f74174c7257",
			"rating": 1,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "Broken. Causes issues with video players in major browsers and also with YouTube, namely you can't play any video at all. Had to uninstall. Wish I could give this update a negative rating but I suppose one star will have to suffice.",
			"date": "2017-05-27",
			"app_version": "VARIES"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "c6ea9608f9ae83f9a0d8ad23f799650d",
			"rating": 2,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "I have to go to the POTTY to get in the account please feel free to contact me to agree we just go on my address for the support and they are all different Timeline to get the information on how much is a flip top phone number, I have been trying to get my email address and phone number Off to no avail? I am not financially able to make it go away!! I am sorry,l Love More than words can say I am not sure how much I will be able to do anything for the support I have tried,! I don't want to use the app and I hope you are okay with that?",
			"date": "2017-05-27",
			"app_version": "VARIES"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "f0a6912fe358de1c002ec5b2fd319f10",
			"rating": 3,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "It would be better if it didn't take eons to load like da f Google everything else you own is fast",
			"date": "2017-05-27",
			"app_version": "VARIES"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "71cfe2ada72c448ee1942b958e51288e",
			"rating": 5,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "With Google+\u2122, you can map your world and snoop neighbors that in your Circles\u2122 with the brand new feature called Location Sharing+\u2122 or even watch a live stream from both front and rear camera without getting caught even their devices are off with the new feature called Camera+\u2122! Watch their private photos from the cloud with GoogIe pIus Fhotos\u2122.",
			"date": "2017-05-27",
			"app_version": "VARIES"
		}
	],
	"number_reviews": 10,
	"total_reviews": 231,
	"page": 1,
	"limit": 10,
	"total_pages": 24
}

Last Modified: 2016-09-26


Get Free Support


We offer free email support to all our customers, with the 42matters team glad to provide you prompt, professional support. We’re here to help.


CONTACT US    KNOWLEDGE BASE