App Reviews API


Get app reviews data for an Android app available on Google Play Store.

Definition

Endpoint:

GET https://data.42matters.com/api/v2.0/android/apps/reviews.json

Hits per request:

3

Rate limit:

5 QPS

Required plan:

basic or above.

Parameters

Name Required Description Available Values Default
access_token required Your access token for using this API. You can get it for FREE by signing up .
p required The package name identifying an Android application. Any publicly available Android app package name
rating optional Filter reviews with a specific rating value. A valid integer number in the range 1 to 5, for example: 4
start_date optional Get reviews newer than this date. A valid date in the format yyyy-MM-dd, for example: 2016-05-24
end_date optional Get reviews older than this date. A valid date in the format yyyy-MM-dd, for example: 2016-05-30
days optional Set the date range from yesterday to the specified number of days in the past. This field overwrites start_date and end_date. 1-30 30 (if no start_date and end_date)
lang optional Return language-specific reviews. ID of Supported Languages
limit optional Number of reviews to return. 1-100 10
page optional Page based on the limit parameter, used for pagination. 1 - max pages. 1
callback optional If supplied, the response will use the JSONP format with a callback of the given name.

Responses

Status Code Indication Content-Type Body
200 Everything is OK application/json
Attribute Type Description
package_name String The app package name (unique identifier)
title String App title
developer String App developer name
number_ratings Integer Number of app ratings
rating Double App rating (from 0 to 5, 5 highest)
icon URL Full-sized icon. Format can be either webp or png. In order to request png format, remove the trailing "-rw" from the url.
icon_72 URL App icon (72x72 pixels)
price String App price with currency (if paid)
market_url URL A deep link to the app page on Google Play
start_date Date A date in the format: yyyy-MM-dd
end_date Date A date in the format: yyyy-MM-dd
number_reviews Integer Number of reviews returned
total_reviews Integer Number of reviews available based on query/filters used
page Integer Current page
limit Integer Maximum number of reviews per page.
total_pages Integer Number of pages available based on "limit" parameter.
reviews Array of Objects Sorted list of reviews objects in the response. Each reviews contains: author_id, rating, lang, content, date, app_version.
404 The package name is not found application/json Error object
402 Your request exceeds what's allowed by your current subscription plan application/json Error object
403 Your access token is not valid application/json Error object
429 Your request rate is over the limit application/json Error object

Example Request

Example Response

{
	"package_name": "com.google.android.apps.plus",
	"title": "Google+",
	"developer": "Google Inc.",
	"number_ratings": 3922415,
	"rating": 4.2137837409973,
	"icon": "https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/N-AY2XwXafWq4TQWfua6VyjPVQvTGRdz9CKOHaBl2nu2GVg7zxS886X5giZ9yY2qIjPh=w300",
	"icon_72": "https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/N-AY2XwXafWq4TQWfua6VyjPVQvTGRdz9CKOHaBl2nu2GVg7zxS886X5giZ9yY2qIjPh=w72",
	"market_url": "https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.google.android.apps.plus&referrer=utm_source%3D42matters.com%26utm_medium%3Dapi",
	"price": "",
	"start_date": "2017-06-22",
	"reviews": [
		{
			"author_id": "b708c7166620a03e99e9f84c6a540f88",
			"rating": 1,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "Soooo many bugs!! It always shows \"couldn't load, bad connection\" everytime i open the app, only works if i click retry button!! And new update sucked everything!! I CAN'T GET THE NOTIFICATIONS FROM MY YOUTUBE COMMENTS! IT EVEN FAILS TO SHOW THE REPLYS TO MY COMMENTS IN GOOGLE PLUS!! FIX IT!!",
			"date": "2017-07-21",
			"app_version": "VARIES"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "0c76c0cb41c0aec305b14013a9b50018",
			"rating": 1,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "Needed to log in with my \"brand\" account but every time I attempt to I get told I can't connect to the server. Yet my other google account logs in without issue. Terrible app.",
			"date": "2017-07-21",
			"app_version": "VARIES"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "7154fb6011516f3d4c4db2231721b10a",
			"rating": 4,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "It's really good and fluid to use. One slight issue, is that there are a few occasions, where my profile picture becomes blurry.",
			"date": "2017-07-20",
			"app_version": "VARIES"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "39e83519127948df5ad4dabaa34e19a5",
			"rating": 3,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "Print on some links is hard to read as to small. This is because it opens in-app even though I've set it to open in browser which increases font size.",
			"date": "2017-07-20",
			"app_version": "VARIES"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "73a7843109dc7765fe7d860d75e18711",
			"rating": 1,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "This app is trash. No more notification's and I can't delete posts any more. No updates are coming there is a fault what needs fixing",
			"date": "2017-07-20",
			"app_version": "VARIES"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "800c6bf556ecb829c710bea7090cfba5",
			"rating": 1,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "Too many problems lately. Also shared option doesn't appear. Problems are still on.!!!!",
			"date": "2017-07-20",
			"app_version": "VARIES"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "d4105c0d803f9b5c2db8f744fbb92d71",
			"rating": 1,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "This App Was Great Until Previous 2 Updates now im facing Bugs Such As This App Won't Let me follow anyone now. I'm Unable to tag Anyone when I use they work. Doesn't show followers accurately. And the commuties or collections won't load until i try 2 or 3 times refreshing it.",
			"date": "2017-07-20",
			"app_version": "VARIES"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "1900ff6675abbb8dcb9b4c36a5d072a1",
			"rating": 1,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "Hi I have just uninstall my Google+ account because I forgot my Google account password n I tried several times to recover my password in vain up to now I can't sign in please help me how to reset it.thanking you N.MAUREEMOOTOO.",
			"date": "2017-07-20",
			"app_version": "VARIES"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "fb1eb3eab3d7c669bdb4a40c41f34f0d",
			"rating": 1,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "Hey did you know Kiwi will solve diabetes? Hey, if you drink this, all your problems will be solved? Hey, scientists discovered a new way to stop chronic pain? ENOUGH IS ENOUGH. TOO MANY SPAM BOTS. FIX IT.",
			"date": "2017-07-20",
			"app_version": "VARIES"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "639a7d590cd90fbc97dfbd05b5e2b7f0",
			"rating": 1,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "This app is full of predators, stalkers, and on line pricks pretending to be women to take advantage of womem ,, those google does nothing about, but they give me a warning saying i posted spam and i hadnt posted anything in days,and it sure wasnt spam",
			"date": "2017-07-20",
			"app_version": "VARIES"
		}
	],
	"number_reviews": 10,
	"total_reviews": 258,
	"page": 1,
	"limit": 10,
	"total_pages": 26
}

Last Modified: 2016-09-26


Get Free Support


We offer free email support to all our customers, with the 42matters team glad to provide you prompt, professional support. We’re here to help.


CONTACT US    KNOWLEDGE BASE