App Reviews API


Get app reviews data for an iOS app available on Apple App Store. 42matters makes best effort for collecting the available reviews and does not guarantee full coverage. Largest coverage have reviews in English.

Definition

Endpoint:

GET https://data.42matters.com/api/v2.0/ios/apps/reviews.json

Hits per request:

3

Rate limit:

3 QPS

Required plan:

basic or above.

Parameters

Name Required Description Available Values Default
access_token required Your access token for using this API. You can get it for FREE by signing up .
id required The app ID on the iTunes store - (e.g for Facebook the ID is 284882215). Existing App ID on iTunes Store
rating optional Filter reviews with a specific rating value. A valid integer number in the range 1 to 5, for example: 4
start_date optional Get reviews newer than this date. A valid date in the format yyyy-MM-dd, for example: 2016-05-24
end_date optional Get reviews older than this date. A valid date in the format yyyy-MM-dd, for example: 2016-05-30
days optional Set the date range from yesterday to the specified number of days in the past. This field overwrites start_date and end_date. 1-30 30 (if no start_date and end_date)
lang optional Return language-specific reviews. ID of Supported Languages
limit optional Number of reviews to return. 1-100 10
page optional Page based on the limit parameter, used for pagination. 1 - max pages. 1
callback optional If supplied, the response will use the JSONP format with a callback of the given name.

Responses

Status Code Indication Content-Type Body
200 Everything is OK application/json
Attribute Type Description
trackId String Numeric unique identifier for the app assigned by Apple
trackCensoredName String App title
sellerName String Seller company name (developer name)
userRatingCount Integer Number of ratings of the app for all versions
averageUserRating Double The average rating of the app for all versions (from 0 to 5, 5 highest)
artworkUrl512 URL Icon image with 512px square sizes
artworkUrl100 URL Icon image with 100px square sizes
formattedPrice String Price and currency of the app
trackViewUrl URL Link to the app on the Apple App Store
start_date Date A date in the format: yyyy-MM-dd
end_date Date A date in the format: yyyy-MM-dd
number_reviews Integer Number of reviews returned
total_reviews Integer Number of reviews available based on query/filters used
page Integer Current page
limit Integer Maximum number of reviews per page.
total_pages Integer Number of pages available based on "limit" parameter.
reviews Array of Objects Sorted list of reviews objects in the response. Each reviews contains: author_id, title, rating, lang, content, date, app_version.
404 The track id/bundle id is not found application/json Error object
402 Your request exceeds what's allowed by your current subscription plan application/json Error object
403 Your access token is not valid application/json Error object
429 Your request rate is over the limit application/json Error object

Example Request

Example Response

{
	"trackId": "343200656",
	"trackCensoredName": "AB Classic",
	"sellerName": "Rovio Entertainment Oyj",
	"userRatingCount": 827981,
	"averageUserRating": 4.5,
	"artworkUrl512": "https://is3-ssl.mzstatic.com/image/thumb/Purple128/v4/1b/cb/0e/1bcb0eeb-7606-85df-022e-3aeafce5e305/source/512x512bb.jpg",
	"artworkUrl100": "https://is3-ssl.mzstatic.com/image/thumb/Purple128/v4/1b/cb/0e/1bcb0eeb-7606-85df-022e-3aeafce5e305/source/100x100bb.jpg",
	"trackViewUrl": "https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ab-classic/id343200656?mt=8&uo=4",
	"formattedPrice": "Free",
	"start_date": "2018-12-18",
	"reviews": [
		{
			"author_id": "acc8a96e1157e9742526e80ce4df3b08",
			"title": "Once Great",
			"rating": 1,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "Angry Birds was once a great game. Back when it first released, I paid for the game and didn\u2019t have all the in app purchases that have plagued mobile gaming nowadays. As it stands, IAP ruins another classic. Move on and find games without trying to squeeze every penny developers can from users. Used to be a great game, but now it\u2019s just another mobile game with in app purchases.",
			"date": "2019-01-16",
			"app_version": "8.0.0"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "4a43b37824f94bda87190624db83a7ea",
			"title": "Used be good.",
			"rating": 1,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "It\u2019s very sad that I can\u2019t download a fun to play game for my kid that that isn\u2019t over run by adds and pop ups trying to sell something. Angry birds used to be fun but now all of these money hungry developers don\u2019t seem to really care about games being fun anymore.",
			"date": "2019-01-16",
			"app_version": "8.0.0"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "8a55635833b68a3a728f55b75e926757",
			"title": "Just how I remember it.......GREAT",
			"rating": 5,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "I\u2019m not one for big speeches so I\u2019ll just say if your looking for some classic angry birds greatness this is were to look I see a lot of reviews on here saying \u201coh it\u2019s not as good as i remember it\u201d \u201cit did not age well\u201d just remember your downloading angry birds CLASSIC anyway bottom line it\u2019s great",
			"date": "2019-01-16",
			"app_version": "8.0.0"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "7497a948a6bf3798ee179eb267230de1",
			"title": "Purchased Long Ago, Now Forced Ads",
			"rating": 1,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "I haven\u2019t played this game in years but recently got the urge again. I downloaded it and now seem to have nothing but distracting popups demanding I watch inescapable full-screen ads. Try to resume episodes like the old version? Full-screen ad. \n\nI PAID for this game. It\u2019s bait and switch years after the fact. This should be illegal or at the very least grounds for removal from the App Store! \n\nI\u2019ll never buy anything from this developer again.",
			"date": "2019-01-16",
			"app_version": "8.0.0"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "98c12852f654a0eaf37c36348b360804",
			"title": "5 min of ads",
			"rating": 2,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "Seriously have to go through 5 min of ads each time you go to a level.  The ads are longer than what you play.  Totally not worth it.\n\nNow your game is glitching and consistently freezes.",
			"date": "2019-01-16",
			"app_version": "8.0.0"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "7702da1a1db34edc5abaa34d0a742b3b",
			"title": "STILL AMAZING",
			"rating": 5,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "I originally posted about it not being classic I was wrong",
			"date": "2019-01-16",
			"app_version": "7.9.8"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "e35bc6cb5138fa90465cb34dc85ea09e",
			"title": "\u30af\u30e9\u30b7\u30c3\u30af\u3068\u306f\u66f8\u3044\u3066\u3042\u308b\u3082\u306e\u306e\u2026",
			"rating": 2,
			"lang": "ja",
			"content": "\u6614\u5922\u4e2d\u306b\u306a\u3063\u305f\u30a2\u30f3\u30b0\u30ea\u30fc\u30d0\u30fc\u30c9\u3068\u306f\u304b\u306a\u308a\u9055\u3063\u3066\u3042\u307e\u308a\u9762\u767d\u304f\u306a\u3044\u3067\u3059\u2026\n\u3082\u3063\u3068\u30b7\u30f3\u30d7\u30eb\u3067\u3001\u5358\u7d14\u306b\u30a8\u30d4\u30bd\u30fc\u30c9\u3092\u9032\u3093\u3067\u3044\u304f\u306e\u304c\u826f\u304b\u3063\u305f\u3067\u3059\u3002\n\u5c11\u3057\u3084\u3063\u3066\u307f\u3066\u8907\u96d1\u3059\u304e\u3066\u6d88\u3057\u307e\u3057\u305f\u3002",
			"date": "2019-01-16",
			"app_version": "8.0.0"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "3f68f5077ded3d731de0978b1cf5799f",
			"title": "Paid version now has ads",
			"rating": 1,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "Like others, was a great paid game until they decided to put in ads. Not happy about paying for a product only to have to sit through a lot of advertising. Won\u2019t be playing again. DELETED.",
			"date": "2019-01-16",
			"app_version": "8.0.0"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "fe5f50269803248131f62751fe9295a7",
			"title": "Not what it used to be",
			"rating": 1,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "Angry Birds used to be fun. But now I get stopped by ads even though I paid for the game many years ago. It has unnecessary power-ups and daily prizes to try to keep you playing which of course opens you up to more ads that last longer than they need to. I used to play it years ago when I first purchased it but now I cannot stand more than a few minutes. As soon as I get stopped by an ad I wonder why I paid for the game in the first place and quit the app. Deleting.",
			"date": "2019-01-16",
			"app_version": "8.0.0"
		},
		{
			"author_id": "7595098dff530678c1b8d02fc27ac603",
			"title": "Please help",
			"rating": 5,
			"lang": "en",
			"content": "Mighty League is not working for me :( btw the game is awesome",
			"date": "2019-01-16",
			"app_version": "7.9.8"
		}
	],
	"number_reviews": 10,
	"total_reviews": 175,
	"page": 1,
	"limit": 10,
	"total_pages": 18
}

Last Modified: 2018-11-11


Automate your workflow


Bring app data into your existing workflow, dashboards, CRM, messaging platforms and many more services! Here a selection of third-party services we support:



Email

Salesforce

HubSpot

Slack

Intercom

Pipedrive

Zendesk

Gekoboard

Klipfolio

Dynamics


And many more!


GET FREE INTEGRATIONS via Zapier!